An Open Letter to My Jewish Brothers and Sisters

arleen:

Wonderful piece on the conflict in gaza!

Originally posted on Teaching Reform:

I would not have predicted that my first post on this blog – a blog Chloe and I planned on dedicating to teaching and learning, pedagogy, and education reform – would be about the crisis in the Middle East. But, as I enter into dialogue with more and more supporters of Israel’s invasion of the Gaza Strip – and of rightwing Israeli politics, in general – I find myself desirous of going beyond angry Facebook posts and tweets.

As Martin Luther King said in his sermon against the Vietnam War, “The time has come for America to hear the truth about this tragic war.” I believe this is especially true of American Jewry. “Now, I’ve chosen to preach about the war . . . because I agree with Dante, that the hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in a period of moral crisis maintain their neutrality. There comes…

View original 3,095 more words

About arleen

Well...of course Arleen isn't my real name, but it doesn't matter. I am a 33 year old working in the IT industry for the largest IT firm out there. My background includes primarily UNIX, Tivoli, and SANs. I have degrees in mathematics and applied mathematics from Gustavus Adolphus College and Iowa State University respectively. Curious to see what this blogging environment has to offer and what I may offer it. Let's go. This blog will just be an on-line environment for anything: music, books, rants, sports, politics, news, you name it. Looking forward to it.
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

